RSS Feed

Things left behind like dust

Posted on

I have been living most of this week curled up in the sofa, reading novels as I said before. I did pull a card each day but didn’t even think of blogging. I  blog just for fun and sometimes not blogging is just as important as writing. I need the spaces of silence.

Today I pulled the Judgement card and it made me think of what we leave behind. I am reading Douglas Couplands novel ‘Player One’ right now and in it he muses about the Rapture, the moment Jesus will snatch you up to Paradise and just leave your shoes behind. But what will we really leave behind? Coupland writes about the Rapture Goo since all that might be taken is the DNA, all the rest would be left, the shoes, clothes, hair, blood, bone, water, muscle, bacteria, skin, cells – everything not DNA. And the thing that makes me into ME is so minuscule you could carry it in a tea-spoon. Now I am not a believer in the Rapture but it poses interesting thoughts.

When I wake up in the morning, I like to think that I leave behind the worries of the yesterday and step into the brand new day, refreshed, naked, open. And when I make my bed, I like to think that as I shake my bed covers I shake off all the troubles, the shame, the guilt, the resentment.

This Judgement card is an opening to a fresh start, it’s a call to begin my day dust-free.

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

4 responses »

  1. Same cards today. When I saw yours I immediately thought, that artist has never seen a dead body… I too think the idea of rapture is more bumkus dogma, but humans are funny people 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’ve always made my bed not thinking of much of anything, but I like your way of doing it!

    Reply
  3. Ugh, i can’t believe i missed this post! Is Mercury RX?

    Reply
    • Actually I think it is! Or about to be in like 1 day. I am feeling quite awful myself, low low on energy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

