RSS Feed

Maat

Posted on

Todays card is Maat from Daughters of the Moon tarot. She is Justice, but more then just human justice, she is the Law, the order of the Universe, the Divine measure. I am not so fond of this image though. Maat is always pictured as a young woman with a feather, she is young cause she is a principle more then a Goddess. I understand that the scope of Daughters of the Moon is to be an inclusive deck, to portray all races and ages, but making her into an old black woman just don’t feel right to me. I spent plenty of time with Maat in meditation as a probationer while studying the Golden Dawn curriculum. I know it is a minor thing, but in my mind I have a clear picture of Maat and it is just nothing like what I see on this card. It is a bit jarring. Also why does the sun look pissed off?

Maat from Wikipedia.

Oh anyone know how to knit or crochet a round bag for a deck? The green one I made has a strange fit but better then nothing I guess.

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

One response »

  1. I agree with you. I’ve never desired this deck because it seems to try too hard.
    I’d turn my square bag inside out and round the corners by stitching across them and then trimming. Use a card as your template and mark the line with a sharpie so you can really see it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

