RSS Feed

The dilemma of the tarot addict

Posted on

This weeks deck is the groovy Sheridan-Douglas tarot. First created in the 70-ies and now re-released and easy to buy again. (Go to amazon.co.uk and not the american amazon though)

I picked this one up after seeing it and oh-ing and ah-ing over it at Bodhiseeds blog (she is guilty of a LOT of enabling) The cardstock is glossy and smooth and quite thick and the images somehow for some strange reason makes me think of Navigators of the mystic SEA. It is not the style of art or anything I can really put my finger on, just like a flavour in the back of my mouth. Perhaps it is just in my imagination. I do love the simplicity of this deck though, bold colours and lines. And it is not a RWS clone. It is outside the box in a lot of the cards.

Todays card pictures the dilemma of a tarot addict. That is me standing on the shoreline with my 6 (or 100+) cups (tarot-decks) my eyes and mind set on that elusive one that would complete my collection and indeed my life!

I am a bit of a hoarder. I now have 111 decks. And yes, this was my latest and I am happy (and satisfied for a week or a month)

Other daily news: Spring is well on it’s way, long days and pleasant nights to ya all 😀 and today Skellefteå AIK is in the hockey semi-finals. Go SAIK! Me and my brother are having a meatball sandwich TV dinner and cheering on.  Perhaps I should do a reading on the outcome!

 

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

3 responses »

  1. Madame Nadia

    From one taro hoarder to another: “It’s the journey and not the destination that matters”.

    Or at least this is what I tell myself these days because I am finally clear on the fact that my collection will never be complete, and there’s no such thing as “the one, mythological deck”.

    Nevertheless, I just bought 3 new tarot decks in the last 3 week (+ a couple Lenormands 😉 lol

    Reply
  2. Very happy that you are happy with this deck! 😀 I am trying to stop collecting, and try to give away a deck when I get a deck. My problem with this grand philosophy is now I have given away most of the decks that were a bit “blah,” but there are still so many decks that I’d like to have!

    Reply
  3. I can certainly recognise myself in your description. 🙂 I prefer the word ‘enthusiast’ to ‘addict’ though.

    It’s such a lovely deck isn’t it? When I used it, it quickly became one of my favourites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

