RSS Feed

Not just sloshing around

Posted on

But creating ripples! This guy here is floating on his back in an ocean, above him clouds and birds creating patterns, the red sun is setting and the man is making some patterns of his own. Hearts radiating outwards, he is floating on a sea of Emotions. Yet again I see the swords as an emotional card, not just one for cerebral aspirations.

Swords in Malkuth, the lowest sphere on the Tree of Life, are always in distress. And this is one way of dealing with stress, to be the victim, to make a splash, to wish for rescue. We learn it as infants, cry and Mom comes and lifts us up, comforts us. As teens we perfect the ‘oh pity on me’ thing and sometimes even as adults we grasp for the passive-aggressive card when we are losing a fight. I know I got it down to a Tee myself. But I try to find other ways of coping these days.

I could slosh around in the ocean of Despair a week before anyone would report me missing so I might as well try other ways of creating ripples.

This deck is such a treat! These seemingly simple images are so vibrant and for me filled with emotions. Here are a few of my favorite cards. Maybe one of them will come up later this week but if not – here are a few goodies:

 

Just found this quote too:

β€œThe very least you can do in your life is figure out what you hope for. And the most you can do is live inside that hope. Not admire it from a
distance but live right in it, under its roof.”
β€” Barbara Kingsolver

Charlie is a great teacher, as all cats are, in living inside your hope. Napping on my pyjama t-shirt.

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

6 responses »

  1. This was a great take on interpreting this particular card! This one has always puzzled me a bit, but not anymore. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thanks Bodhiseed, this is such a lovely deck, thanks for enabling me :-p
      I find especially the minors are very different. yet familiar. Some cards I never understood fully are clear as day here – like 2 of wands, just brilliant.

      Reply
  2. we are thousands of miles apart in distance and our decks this week, but you’ll see we are both on the same page today πŸ™‚

    Live Strong!

    Reply
  3. Hi Jema, I just found your blog and am enjoying looking at your collection and reading your insights. Where did you find the Barbara Kingsolver quote?
    Thanks!

    Reply
  4. Thanks Jema, I didn’t know this site – just joined, it seems really interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

