RSS Feed

Relax

Posted on

But not as in being lazy and sitting on the balcony reading and now and then look up and squint your eyes to the sun… I already done that. It was glorious, having a cold beer and my Kindle and my cat in the lap (yes, he insisted)

Not as in Frankie goes to Hollywood Relax

But as in the conscious effort to Relax the tensions.

In this sketch (5 Water) DaVinci made one of his intricate mechanical drawings. This, according to the book, is a contraption to relax a spring too tightly wound up. Earlier this morning I stumbled upon a thread in my Heathens and Witches group over at Goodreads that wanted some tips on how to meditate and do creative visualisation. By pure chance I had just read a bit about the different modes of thinking and meeting the world in Temple Grandins book ‘Thinking in  Pictures’ and I thought back on how much I struggled with meditation mainly cause I could never relax to someone elses voice on those guided meditations. Pictures only worked if I had first dreamt of them. What really work for me, my way of un-winding that thightly spring in my mind is movement. I meditate walking, or if at home and not able to walk, by gently swaying my body. I meet the world in the tactile sense.

In one of my Kabbalah classes the Rabbi talked about how we humans meet the universe by only tiny little openings. like the skin on your fingertips, the eyes, the nose, the ears, the mouth. With training we can learn to take it in via our Spirit. Until then – I go for a walk…

What a serpentine post this became, but I love it when I somehow can connect this book to that book to that song to this card etc…

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

2 responses »

  1. I tend to see visualization and meditation as two very different things. With visualization, I’m trying to force my thoughts in a general direction, but with meditation I just watch them float by like ships on the ocean (and do my best not to hop on and try to steer them – in other words, watch without attachment!).
    Your Rabbi sounds like a very wise man. 🙂

    Reply
    • I agree with you there, I usually don’t visualise while meditating, I wouldn’t know how to even. I do know that in many books on meditations, and tapes and such they do ask you to visualise this or that, like portals and faerie guides and totem animals.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

