RSS Feed

Movement – Moment

Posted on

I never was ‘good’ at meditating until I stopped trying so hard. Today I picked 4 of Swords from the Tarot of Transformation.

I started walking every morning before breakfast. At first it is so hard to even get going. I sit and come up with a handful excuses as to why I should just stay put, in front of the computer, or even in bed just a little longer. But now my body gets dressed even while my brain is sleeping, my hands tie the shoelaces while my head is shouting that really, this is not at all necessery! But as soon as I close my front door behind me and step out I feel good, all is well. The first minutes my mind is adjusting, I get stuck in negative loops of perceived wrongs and have lectures in my head on how very sorry everything is and what could have been if only and yadda yadda… But after about 10 minutes I swept all the old patterns and flaws out, my head and my heart is clean – focused on just a few things. The breaths entering and leaving my body, the steps I take, the road ahead, the sea coming up ahead, the trees, the sounds of the wind and distant traffic or kids playing. But mainly just the one foot in front of the other and the air filling my lungs.

‘When you can identify a pattern in your mind and see where it originates, you can get some distance from it and be more objective and less controlled by it.’

 

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

One response »

  1. Well done. I strap on my pedometer every morning, amazing how many extra steps that simple act of intent brings into my day

    Reply

Leave a Reply

