RSS Feed

Dark Grimoire

Posted on

This weeks deck is the Dark Grimoire from Lo Scarabeo. It is at least in parts, based on the world of H.P. Lovecraft and is wonderfully dark and twisted and moody. The art is beautiful in warm earth tones, painted with a gentle hand by Michele Penco. Some of the cards are my faves in any decks. (I’ll post those a bit later on)

Yesterday’s card was The Sun. A myriad of creatures creeping, crawling among thick roots and rocks and in the clearing the rising sun. They seem utterly compelled yet hesitant to walk into the light. I see it as integration of shadowy parts into the day-to-day living.

Interesting to note is that I am right now reading (apart from Lovecraft short stories of course) a book by China Mieville called ‘The City and the City’ about 2 paralleled cities, excisting side by side, where people have been conditioned to only see and hear their own city, the other existing an inch away but not acknowledge.  Somehow this card made me think of that book – synchronicity!

Click the image to see it better. Not my best photo but the batteries were dying.

Today I pulled the 9 of Pentacles or Shadows as they are called here. This suit is about our physical center and our attachments. The road is pawed to success if that is truly what is ahead? But there are still stumbling blocks on the way and just what is she walking towards? The city of Dreams or of Nitemares? With Lovecraft you would guess the latter.

Today I see this as an urging to clarify just where I am heading and why. Or rather why I am not heading anywhere at all…

 

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

One response »

  1. One of my personal Top Five ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

