RSS Feed

A site a day

Posted on

Or almost. During this week I haven’t worked as much with Sacred Sites Tarot as I wished. Here are a few of the cards I pulled though. What strikes me is how this deck is not just about places but about events and how history touched and embellished on these sites.

The Saint Patrick’s well, is the name of several wells. When browsing the web I found references to a St Patrick’s well in Italy too and the photos of the site in Ireland bears no resemblance to the well on this card. But the well as a portal to the underworld is still interesting. I know just how myths come alive in connection to sites like these. Where I grew up, in a tiny mining town, the old mining shafts were full of mystic and stories of ghosts were whispered among us kids. They later built a fancy hotel room in one of the mines but you could not pay me enough gold to sleep in there.

The 3 of swords here is one of my fave cards in the whole deck. First because there is no stabbed heart in sight, secondly cause the Tunguska event is such a great image of just the terror and confusion that this card can bring about. The Bermuda triangle of the 7 of swords is excellent too cause it really is all about the hype is it not? The uncertainty and rumours.

Two of Swords here could be any number of buddist gardens. This site is almost like an internal sacred site, we can create this harmony.

The Tower is of course Krakatoa. In 1883 the whole volcano exploded, killing thousands, and the bang could be heard a long way. This reminds me of another exploding volcano that I studied about Thera. According to Plato it was here Atlantis was. We do know that the eruption at Thera was at least in part responsible of the destruction of the Minoan era. today people are touristing and sunbathing on the volcanic ashes on Santorini.

Lastly, The Star, is the great ziggurat in Ur. Built to honor the God Nanna. It has been rebuilt many times, in sections, so it is hard to tell just how it might have looked. But there is something eternal about it. This grand design of the Ur-era has been bombed, shot at, taken apart and reassembled and yet here it is. A bit ironic that the star card show a temple dedicated to a moon god. But I like it anyway, the whole site seems very strange, a bit aloof.

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

2 responses »

  1. This is a new deck to me, and I’m loving the images! Thank you for showcasing it!

    Reply
  2. I love this deck, look forward to it’s turn again. But I think everyday pub readers wouldn’t like it at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

