RSS Feed

Identity

Posted on

Today’s card made me think about identity, how it is shaped and where it takes us. This Knight of Pentacles is haunting his own portrait. The picture being an image of him at his proudest moment made eternal (or almost) and there he stands, a mere shadow of his old self. His sword tip pointing down to that one glimmering coin – so useless to him now.

What is my identity anchored in? Not a profession, not a family. There are days when I feel like I will never fulfill my true potential. But then, how could I be anything but who I am, regardless of expectations. I write my story as I breathe in and then out…

“It’s like everyone tells a story about themselves inside their own head. Always. All the time. That story makes you what you are. We build ourselves out of that story.” 
― Patrick Rothfuss, The Name of the Wind

Tonight is election in the US. I’ll be up waiting for the result – don’t disappoint me, America…

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

3 responses »

  1. America did make us fell proud! Apropos, love the deck, haven’t seen it before!

    Reply
    • Yeah, they sure did. I stayed up until 5 am when all prognosis gave victory to Obama 😀
      The Spirit World is one of those half forgotten Lo Scarabeo decks. It has very little to do with RWS so people tend to not like it. The LWB is small and cryptic. But I think the images do all the talking one need. It’s nice to just step away from route meanings.

      Reply
  2. I’ve been clueless about who won (until this morning) because I couldn’t stand the suspense. Thank you America for putting a man of integrity back in the White House (who happened to also be my choice!).
    This is a strange deck but brings up all kind of off-the-wall thoughts for me. This card made me think of the men here who hang stuffed deer heads and fish on their walls – “See what I did?” But instead of an animal, he’s got a big coin… 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

