RSS Feed

Tarot, books, weather etc

Posted on

Origins 4 jewelsFirst the daily card. I pulled this about 5am when my cat Charlie woke me up cause he wanted to go out, then stood frozen in the door for a minute while my warm sleep drained away. I made tea and took a card and got 4 of Jewels/coins. I always loved these Cycladic figures. They are from around 3300 BCE but the pattern has a long history and they were made rather consistently in style for about 5000 years, just suck on that. 5000 years. Some were found in graves, some obviously cared for like dolls, some in temples as votives. They look surprisingly modern with their stark abstract features. But we have to remember these would have been painted with pigments too. What we see is really just the ‘bones’ which is also the title for the card: Bones of Jewels. What I think of when I see them is how humans gave them shape and life just because they could. These were now actual useful tools, they were not worn to show status, they were simply created cause we could and cause our ancestors liked them, just as I like them today, more then 5000 years later.

I remember seeing these ‘in the flesh’ once as an exhibition at a museum in Stockholm while studying ancient history and culture and I just fell in love. They were all standing in concentric circles, graded for size, facing a large round marble sphere. The largest almost life-size, the smallest like my pinkie.

Apart from that… I started reading a book ‘Ghostwritten’ by David Mitchell but got side-tracked into Haruki Murakami’s book ‘Underground’ due to the connections. Underground is a non-fiction book on the Sarin-gas attack in the subway in Tokyo in 1995 mastered by the cult leader Aum. It’s touching, sad, horrific but really gives an insight into how people reacted that were there and survived. The Japanese soul. These people who stayed in a dangerous situation just cause it was their duty. I only read the first few stories yet but it is interesting.

Then a weather update. We didn’t get 1 meter that they said could happen. We got about 30 cm. Plenty enough if you ask me. Photos:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

One response »

  1. I didn’t realize some of those figures had been so large! That life-size one must have been quite impressive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

