RSS Feed

Frown

Posted on

Origins Woman of Soul

Souls are the suit of Cups and normally the Queen of Cups would be this soft warm woman, motherhood, emotional nurturing etc. Here we see the Woman of Soul with a frown, her eyes meeting mine, in her hand a mask. Is she about the put it on? Or did it just come off? I like that we see the strong woman here, the iron inside is showing. Is that mask the milder version she puts on to sooth? It must be hard to live up to the impossible expectations of being a mother, I imagine it was always hard. It could be like losing a bit of your own true self. And then as soon as that motherhood sweet mask falls off we see the terrifying mother. Not cause she is terrifying – but because she is independent,  no longer a Mother, but a Woman.

Tomorrow I switch deck again but I am sure to come back to this one often. In fact, I am leaving it in its box on the living room table.

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

8 responses »

  1. Well done. You’ve pulled a lot from these cards, it has been a pleasure to follow along.
    Sharyn

    Reply
    • Every day I look forward to read and follow your blog. You give me som much inspiration to keep working with my own tarotcards.

      Reply
    • Thanks AJ, it was such a nice surprise that I was able to get that deck 😀 Often when you wanted something a very long time and finally get it – you can feel a bit disappointed, but not this time!

      Reply
  2. Saw your link on Aeclectic Tarot! Wanted to share enthusiasm for Tarot blogging 🙂 Of course mine is http://gnostictarotcards.blogspot.com Glad to see more Tarot Blogs on the net. Good Job!

    Tim

    Reply
  3. I quite like this depiction as well, I must say.

    Reply
  4. How do I follow your blog?

    Reply
  5. My fingers are burning!

    Do you know where I could buy the Tarot of the origins? I have wanted this set for 4 years now and can’t find it in Australia. Please let met know.

    Reply
    • Hi, thanks for stopping by. This deck came to me from a friend on the AT forum that knew I had been looking for one a long long time. It is sadly out of print and very hard to find. My best advice is to keep an eye out for it on E-bay and also on the trading forums for Aeclectic Tarot.
      I just got very very lucky and bought it off a friend for normal retail price, $20 or so. But I seen it go for ten times as much. Good luck in your search!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

