RSS Feed

Beacon

Posted on

elementalI am just gonna skip all excuses as to why I didn’t post on Etteilla. So there. This week I take out a rare gem of a deck, one I have wanted some time now and finally found really cheap on e-bay. The Elemental Tarot by Caroline Smith and John Astrop. The cards are beautiful and quite packed with symbols. The book is good to have at times like this. I also notice some switching around of the elements for the courts, here the Queens are Earth and the Pages Water etc, but I don’t see that as a problem. I will just do like I always do and look at the image.

Elemental 3 fireToday’s card is 3 of Fire – Beacon. The triangles of her ‘bikini’ draws my eye first. And that makes me smile, cause isn’t that what a bikini is for – to draw the eye, being a beacon on the beach! Now this is why I love to blog – I learn stuff. Since English is not my first language I need to look words up, sometimes even when I think I know what they mean, just to be sure I get the subtle meanings too. So I look up ‘Beacon’ and find that it is a device to draw attention but that is a modern interpretation. It used to be simpler then that. It used to just be a fire on a hill. And this girl is on Fire, isn’t she? Fire of purpose and joy. She is so electrifying her hair rejects gravity and is pulled to the heat of the sun, everything about her is heat, attention, being present and expressing a deep seated joy.

I quite like this deck already!

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

2 responses »

  1. Nice to see you blogging again! Hope you’re feeling better. Really like your take on this card (I’m going to have Bruce Springsteen’s song “I’m on Fire” running through my head now, lol). I know nothing about this colorful deck, so I’ll look forward to your comments on it.

    Reply
  2. the art is beautiful indeed. looking forward to more of your thoughts – its possible you may enable me on it ;]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

