RSS Feed

Commitment to a smile

Posted on

Oracle of InitiationThis year, starting in January I committed myself to fix my teeth. Due to neglect and a rather severe phobia for dentists and medicine that did nothing to improve my teeth they were in a bad shape and caused me a lot of pain and embarrassment. I promised myself that 2013 would be the year I get them sorted out, pulling broken wisdom-teeth and getting some replacement in a few gaps. It’s been going pretty up and down. Going in the first time I was scared stiff and cried a lot but I have a wonderful dentist and nurse that really made me feel at ease. Things didn’t go pain-free though. I pulled a broken tooth and it was connected to the sinuses and it was all very infected and I got a high fever and was down and out for a week and it didn’t help me with the anxiety levels. As of today I got one more mending to do and one very tricky wisdom tooth that is set far in and is hard to numb, last appointment we couldn’t have it fixed cause the anesthetic just would not take. So maybe I shared more than I should? I mean no one want people to know just how bad their teeth are after all. But it is all a part of my commitment, to own up to it and take steps to change it.

It’s my birthday the last of june and my hope is that by then I can fire off a dazzling smile and not feel ashamed. So all this about teeth for me is deeply connected to this card. Both about the word – Commitment. But I also see a bit of my fear in her face, the jagged rocks in the background like teeth, her closed mouth for not being done yet, still some steps to go. It’s not a pretty card but then if life was all pretty it wouldn’t be such a challenge to commit to things either.

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

One response »

  1. Hang in there my friend, I think it will be worth it in the long run. I had a psycho dentist when I was a child (he was cheap, and with five kids, that’s who my parents chose). He didn’t believe in happy gas but occasionally used novocaine shots. I once had to have 4 permanent teeth pulled by him, and I cried a little (not sobbing, but tears were trickling down my cheeks) because I was scared. He told me he was going to send me to the veterinarian next door to finish the job if I didn’t shut up. It took me about 15 years to see another dentist after getting away from him. I’m so glad you have a compassionate dentist and nurse – it will make even the hard parts a bit easier. (((Jema)))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

