RSS Feed

Hierophants

Posted on

Many hierophants

Installment in the never-ending and rather lazy serie of Fave Cards. Well, the Hierophant is a tricky card to love. He is kinda old and stuffy and can feel judgmental. Pointing with the whole hand and all that. But I took out a whole lot of Hierophants and laid them out and thought about what aspects of the card I like.

Fave HierophantsHe will carry tradition, he will communicate knowledge (not always wisdom) and he will show a way and provide a key. The first card is from Jolanda Tarot and I like it for the elephants on his robe for memory and the bull for a certain stubbornness. The middle card is from a deck I never really used, Housewifes tarot. It just feels so right to have a radio/TV anything that is a one-way communication. Only in the last picture do we see the hint of a more open communication cause the Hierophant from Silicon Dawn tarot makes me think of cyberspace and the internet and the many many ‘truths’ we find there where we meet self-proclaimed Hierophants all over Facebook.

These days we don’t really need anyone to be the middle hand between us an the Mystery. We all strive to be the channel to our own inner Angel. So perhaps we need to open the archetype up. I see the major difference between the High Priestess and the Hierophant not in gender or what their secrets are but in how they share it. When the High Priestess sits silent and alone the Hierophant at least tries to connect, to teach. It’s not always what we want or need to learn of course. Perhaps this card can challenge me and ask me how I share my wisdom and knowledge? Do I shout it out like a radio, try to charge you for a certificate online or am I a co-learner/teacher. I want my Hierophant a little like Wikipedia!

 

About jema

Dreamer, tarot reader and hobo librarian

Leave a Reply

